History of Ladenburg

by R. Beedgen, B. Stahl and R. Ziegler

Ladenburg is probably the oldest town on the right side of the Rhein River in Germany, making it one of the earliest and most significant foundations of a town in the country. Today, Ladenburg is an very vibrant town that has every reason to be proud of its exciting history.

History

The Celts used a Neckar alluvial fan ca. 3.000 years B.C. to lay the beginnings of the current town. They also gave the settlement a name with a meaning that, while shrouded in the darkness of time, still survives in the roots of the current name. In a stroke of luck, the remains of a “Keltenschanze” – a four-sided trench probably used for cult purposes – were excavated in the southwest of the town. The centuries that followed are still mostly unknown. Ladenburg history comes to light once again around 0 A.D. A Germanic clan called the Neckarsweben wandered in from the Elbe river region.

The Roman Town Lopodunum

The roman empire was established around 70 A.D. One of its first actions was to build a castle to demonstrate military presence. Then, in 98 A.D. The Roman Kaiser Trajan elevated the status of Ladenburg to the headquarters of the Civitas Ulpia Sueborum Nicrensium. The prerequisites were thus created for Ladenburg to develop into a Roman provincial town. Around 200 A.D. The town the Romans called Lopodunum experienced a period of prosperity. The town was surrounded by a wall within which there were, among other things, a temple, a theatre, thermal baths, and even a forum with a neighboring Market basilica. Lopodunum was known far beyond its boundaries, and the highly developed civilization of the Romans impressed the resident population. But around 260 A.D., the Alemanni came from the north and east, pushing the Romans out, whose entire empire was experiencing signs of decay. Except for a short Roman episode around 360 A.D., the Roman era was at an end.

Medieval Ladenburg

Ladenburg experienced a mass migration, ending signs of Roman civilization. Around 500 A.D., the Franks built a royal court to show off significance in Ladenburg. Ladenburg became the capital of Lobdengau. A good 100 years later, the Frankish Ladenburg was bestowed upon the Bishop of Worms. It was the beginning of bishop rule that would last until 1705. This made it possible for Ladenburg to develop into a medieval town.

There are visible signs of the presence in the St. Gallus Church, the St. Sebastian Chapel, the Bischofshof (Lobdengau-Museum) and the Fürstenbau (The town Library).

The town built its first medieval wall during the ninth and tenth centuries which was extended around 1200 A.D. The masonry samples, the Martinstor (Martin’s Gate) the Hexenturm (Witches’ Tower) and parts of the Pfaffenturm (Cleric’s Tower) are all special features of this town wall and tourist magnets of the town.

The bishop’s presence was accompanied by a series of extended stays of German Kings and Kaisers, such as Heinrich II., Heinrich IV. And Maximilian I. The construction of the St. Gallus Church from the 13th to the 15th century emphasized the significance of Ladenburg. The Prince-elector of the Palatinate determined the town’s destiny in the 14th century.

Modern Times

The Reformation of the 16th and 17th centuries brought substantial complications and destruction to the town This conflict-ridden time was shaped by the direct conflict between the Catholic Bishop of Worms and the Prince-elector of the Palatinate, who was an early follower of the ideas of the Reformation.

The era of Worms Bishops essentially ended in 1705, when an agreement of cession was made between the Prince-elector and the Bishop. The era of Prince-Electors was ended with the Napoleon’s conquest of the Electoral Palatinate (Kurpfalz). In 1803, the fate of Ladenburg was placed in the hands of the Grand Duke of Karlsruhe (Baden), with less-than-positive results for the town. The Revolution of 1948 brought soldiers from Mecklenburg to the town who fought and died on the side of the Grand Duke and were buried in Ladenburg’s cemetery.

Historic Figures

Numerous names of famous people are connected to Ladenburg’s history. In addition to the Bishop of Worms, Johannes von Dalberg (1445–1503), a known humanist, there is also Johann Friedrich von Seilern (1646–1715), The son of a local dyer, who rose to the rank of Chancellor of the Holy Roman Empire, and who penned the Sanctio Pragmatica, which paved the way to heir the throne as Kaiser for the Hapsburg descendant Maria Theresia. Persons of Mention are also: The Italian composer and violinist Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1713), who bore the title of “Marques de Ladenburg” bestowed upon him by the Prince-Elector Johann Wilhelm, and Johann Christoph Sauer (1695–1757), who emigrated to North America in 1724 and printed the New World’s first bible written in German.

The inventor of the Automobile, Dr. Carl Benz (1844–1929), lived in Ladenburg in 1904 until his death. He and his wife, Bertha, received the town’s honors: Their grave site is located in the Ladenburg Cemetery The Benz House, the most likely world’s first Stone car garage, located in the Benz Park, and the Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz are among the most special tourist attractions in the town.
Further honorary citizens of the town are the great archaeologist Dr. Berndmark Heukenme (1924–2009), Who literally made the town’s history visible, and one-time-mayor Reinhold Schulz (1931–2008), who dedicated himself to the urban development of the town for 28 years. The town owes it’s current face to these two People and the civic voluntary dedication of the Heimatbund members.

Ladenburg´s Geschichte

von R. Beedgen, B. Stahl und R. Ziegler

Ladenburg ist wohl die älteste Stadt in Deutschland rechts des Rheins und damit eine der ersten und bedeutendsten Stadtgründungen im Land. Ladenburg ist heute eine überaus lebendige Stadt, die auf eine spannungsreiche Geschichte stolz sein kann.

Historie

Die Kelten nutzten ca. 3.000 Jahre vor der Zeitenwende einen Neckarschwemmkegel, um Ursprünge der heutigen Stadt zu legen. Sie gaben der Siedlung auch einen Namen, dessen Bedeutung noch im Dunkel der Zeit liegt, der aber in Wurzeln im heutigen Stadtnamen überlebt. Im Südosten der Stadt konnten Reste einer Keltenschanze ausgegraben werden, eine quadratische Anlage, die wohl kultischen Zwecken diente. Die folgenden Jahrhunderte bleiben noch weitgehend verborgen. Licht in die Ladenburger Geschichte kommt wieder um die Zeitenwende. Die Neckarsweben, ein germanischer Stamm, wanderten aus dem Elbegebiet ein.

Die römische Stadt Lopodunum

Um 70 n. Chr. etablierte sich das römische Weltreich. Zunächst errichtete es ein Kastell und demonstrierte militärische Präsenz. Im Jahr 98 n. Chr. erhob der römische Kaiser Trajan Ladenburg zum Hauptort der Civitas Ulpia Sueborum Nicrensium. Damit wurde die Voraussetzung geschaffen, Trajan-Münzedass sich Ladenburg zur römischen Provinzstadt entwickeln konnte. Um 200 erlebte das von den Römern so bezeichnete Lopodunum eine Blütezeit. Die Stadt besaß eine Stadtmauer, innerhalb derer u. a. Tempel, ein Schauspieltheater, Thermen und ein Forum mit einer unmittelbar daran angrenzenden Marktbasilika anzutreffen waren. Lopodunum war weit über seine Grenzen hinaus bekannt und die hochentwickelte Zivilisation der Römer machte Eindruck auf die ansässige Bevölkerung. Doch von Norden und Osten kommend, verdrängten die Alemannen um das Jahr 260 die Römer, die in ihrem ganzen Weltreich mit Zerfallserscheinungen zu kämpfen hatten. Bis auf eine kurze römische Episode um das Jahr 360 war die Zeit der Römer zu Ende.

Das mittelalterliche Ladenburg

Ladenburg erlebte die Völkerwanderung und mit ihr verschwanden die Zeichen der römischen Zivilisation. Um das Jahr 500 zeigten die Franken in Ladenburg mit einem Königshof ihre damalige Bedeutung. Ladenburg wurde zur Hauptstadt des Lobdengaus. Gut 100 Jahre später schenkten die Franken Ladenburg dem Bischof von Worms, der die Stadt zu einer Nebenresidenz entwickelte. Es begann eine bis zum Jahr 1705 währende bischöfliche Herrschaft. Sie ermöglichte Ladenburg die Entwicklung zu einer mittelalterlichen Stadt. 

Sichtbare Zeichen dieser Präsenz sind bis heute die St. Gallus-Kirche, die St. Sebastian-Kapelle, der Bischofshof (heute Lobdengau-Museum) und der Fürstenbau (heute Stadtbibliothek).

Die Stadt erhielt im 9./10. Jahrhundert eine erste und um 1200 eine erweiterte mittelalterliche Stadtmauer. Von dieser Stadtmauer sind neben den erhaltenen Mauerzügen heute noch das Martinstor, der Hexenturm und Teile des Pfaffenturmes besondere Merkmale und touristische Anziehungspunkte der Stadt.

Die Bischofspräsenz brachte eine Reihe von Aufenthalten deutscher Könige und Kaiser mit sich, so etwa Heinrich II., Heinich IV. oder Maximilian I. Mit dem Bau der zweitürmigen gotischen St. Gallus-Kirche vom 13. bis zum 15. Jahrhundert unterstrichen sie die Bedeutung Ladenburgs. Der Kurfürst von der Pfalz trat bestimmend im 14. Jahrhundert in die Geschicke der Stadt ein.

Neuzeit

Die Reformation im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert brachte erhebliche Verwicklungen mit Zerstörungen für die Stadt. Geprägt wurde diese konfliktreiche Zeit dadurch, dass ein katholischer Bischof von Worms und der Kurfürst von der Pfalz, der früh den Ideen der Reformation folgte, hier direkt aufeinander trafen.

Die Zeit der Wormser Bischöfe ging im Wesentlichen 1705 mit dem Zessionsvertrag zwischen dem Kurfürsten und dem Bischof zu Ende. Die Zerschlagung der Kurpfalz durch Napoleon ließ die Ära der Kurfürsten enden. 1803 wurde die Geschichte der Stadt in die Hände des badischen Großherzogs in Karlsruhe gelegt, mit nicht allzu positiven Auswirkungen für die Stadt. Die Revolution von 1848 brachte mecklenburgische Soldaten, die auf der Seite des Großherzogs kämpften, in die Stadt und als Gefallene auf den Ladenburger Friedhof.

Persönlichkeiten

Mit der Geschichte Ladenburgs sind auch die Namen bedeutender Persönlichkeiten verbunden. Neben dem Wormser Bischof Johannes von Dalberg (1445-1503), einem bekannten Humanisten, sind es Johann Friedrich von Seilern (1646-1715), ein Ladenburger Färbersohn, der zum Kanzler des Heiligen Römischen Reiches aufstieg und die Pragmatische Sanktion verfasste, die der habsburgischen Kaiserin Maria Theresia den Weg auf den Kaiserthron ebnete. Zu erwähnen sind auch der italienische Komponist und Geiger Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713), der den vom Kurfürsten Johann Wilhelm verliehenen Titel "Marques de Ladenburg" trug, und Johann Christoph Sauer (1695-1757), der 1724 nach Amerika auswanderte und dort die erste Bibel in deutscher Sprache herausgab.

Der Erfinder des Automobils, Dr. Carl Benz (1844-1929), lebte von 1904 bis zu seinem Tode in Ladenburg. Er erhielt ebenso wie seine Frau Bertha das Ehrenbürgerrecht der Stadt; ihr Grabmal befindet sich auf dem Ladenburger Friedhof. Das Benz-Haus, die im Benz-Park stehende wohl älteste Steingarage und das Automuseum Dr. Carl-Benz zählen ebenfalls zu den besonderen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt.

Weitere bedeutende Ehrenbürger der Stadt waren der große Archäologe Dr. Berndmark Heukemes (1924-2009), der die Geschichte der Stadt im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes sichtbar machte, und Bürgermeister Reinhold Schulz (1931-2008), der sich 28 Jahre lang mit großem Engagement insbesondere der Stadtsanierung widmete. Das heutige Gesicht der Stadt ist maßgeblich diesen beiden Persönlichkeiten und dem bürgerschaftlichen Engagement der Heimatbund-Mitglieder zu verdanken.